CSA Post: Spicy Oyster Mushroom Barley Risotto

Last week when we received a package of Oyster mushrooms in our share from Herbivor (actually from a different farm in Quebec), I immediately started brainstorming for ways in which I could use the mushrooms. Maybe a soup? Nah, that’s been done before. A salad? Meh. I was thinking bigger and more inventive, so after a couple of hours of wracking my brain, I had it: Barley risotto! I wanted it to be spicy, because, why not? And I wanted to give it an Asian influence with rice wine since, apparently I’ve been doing that a lot lately.

I couldn’t find any rice wine at Loblaw’s but life went on and I proceeded with good ol’ white wine instead. So it goes.

And without further ado, let’s get to it!

 

    Ingredients

  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp Extra virgin Olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup Barley, rinsed
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 4 cups Vegetable broth (depending on serving size, mine was for 2 people)
  • 1/2 cup White cooking wine
  • 1 package Blue Oyster mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 package Button mushrooms, chopped
  • Sugar snap peas, a handful
  • 1 tbsp Gardenia Lebanese Red pepper paste
  • Black pepper to taste

Directions

We start off with some minced garlic (from Herbivor!) and butter and olive oil in a large pot, letting it cook for a minute or two.  Then add a cup of the Barley and a cup of the Arborio rice. Lower the heat and stir.

20140730_192141[1]

Then we move on to the star of the show: the oyster mushrooms. Grab those and chop them up, add them to a pan with oil or butter on medium heat.

20140730_191234[1]

Chop up some button mushrooms and add those to the pan as well.

Now, back to the pot of rice/barley. You should be adding vegetable broth if you haven’t already, one cup at time until the rice/barley absorbs the liquid. Once it’s absorbed, you can add a 1/2 cup white wine, stirring occasionally.

And here’s the moment when I just remember that I have sugar snap peas (From Herbivor) in the fridge. Let’s add those!

20140730_193615[1]

 

20140730_194138[1]

Now that we’ve got everything added to the pot, it’s time to spice things up a bit. I wandered down the “Asian food” aisle (Anything remotely ethnic goes here)  at Loblaw’s and came upon a jar of Lebanese Red pepper paste. I decided to take a chance on it and I wasn’t disappointed.

20140730_193648[1]

All we need is a tablespoon of this stuff and the risotto is complete.

Yay, now it’s time to eat! Enjoy, my friends.

20140730_194355[1]

 

Leave a Reply

